Red.

The post in my stockpile for today was supposed to be about moving furniture and how I changed up my living room.

I changed my mind.

Today, I woke up and noticed that the space heater that I use to help keep the back rooms warm in the winter (the house definitely needs new duct work) wasn’t hot. It wasn’t even warm. That is a problem when you have three kids who refuse to wear socks in the house. So this morning, I hopped in my cute little red Audi and drove to Walmart.

I picked up the new heater, and then wandered the store for a bit.

I ended up in ladies’ wear. Which is where I saw them. Jeggings. In my size. Yesterday, I bought a cute little drapey top. I looked at the jeggings and thought about that new cute little top at home and my cute black boots. And how the entire outfit would just look adorable on me. So… I bought the jeggings.

This afternoon, I sat down to catch up on my blog reading and read this post by The Bloggess. And then I read this article that she linked. And then I thought about The Traveling Red Dress.

This time last year, you wouldn’t have caught me dead in jeggins or straight leg jeans or skinny jeans or anything that I couldn’t hide my fat ass, my tummy rolls, and my big feet. My ‘cute tops’ were tee shirts. Boring stuff, really. While I was reading the Forbes article, it hit me. I have my own version of the red dress, and I’m choosing to wear it, every day. I’m avoiding the tee shirt and jeans ‘mom look’ that I wore for so long, I’m shedding it and trying on something new and different.

And in order for me to do that, I have to face my demons. Yes, I’ve lost a shit ton of weight in the last year, but I’ve also faced the fact that I’m never going to be a size 2. If the weight loss were to stop now, I would be ok with being my size 16 self.

The red dress phenomenon is, for me, about accepting who you are, flaws and all. It’s not just rocking the red dress, it’s about facing the fact that at whatever age, whatever size, whether you are bald and wrinkly or hairy and smooth, you are still beautiful. There is something beautiful and amazing and wonderful about you.

So while I’m not wearing a red strapless ballgown, I am wearing jeggings and boots and a cute little top and I’m looking good. This outfit is my red dress.

About fallyn96

mother. queen of the house. likes sparkly stuff because sparkly stuff is boy repellent. especially if it's pink sparkly stuff. View all posts by fallyn96

Leave a Reply

