Weight Loss

In January, after my world imploded when my husband decided to leave me, I found myself not eating. I didn’t want to eat, I wasn’t hungry, and the only reason that I did eat was because I knew that I had to, because I had three boys to feed and I didn’t wanted them to see that even when the world is upside down and inside out, that LIFE goes on. So- I found myself eating less than normal.

After a week of this, on a whim, I stepped on the scale and discovered that I had gone from an ugly 245 pounds to a slightly less ugly 235 pounds.

I had lost 10 pounds in a week. And I had done nothing to lose that 10 pounds.

It got me thinking, and rather than think ‘oh, I’ll starve myself and lose the weight’, I thought ‘I’m going to do this right. For my kids.’

 

These two pictures were taken roughly a year apart. The one on the left was taken in August 2010, on our trip to Tennessee. The one on the right was taken at the end of July 2011, when we went hiking at Starved Rock State Park.

My arms are still big. I still have fat rolls. My boobs need a lift (ahem). But, and it’s hard to tell from the second picture, I have a curve now. And hips. Hips are good. I’ve gone from a size 22W to a size 18 (no W).

This morning, I weigh 202 lbs.

Two. Hundred. And. Two.

I’m now fifty-two pounds away from my goal, five pounds away from the halfway point (goal weight is 150).

Last week, I bought a shirt that sells in my store’s JUNIORS department. Yes, it’s the largest size we make for juniors (19), but that’s not the point. The point is- it fits, I can wear it, and I’m proud of that.

There’s a lot more that I need to do- I need to tone, I need to work out, but right now, I’m happy that I can buy clothing that fits, that I can walk into any department store and be able to find *something* that fits. And some day soon, I’ll be able to walk into any store that sells normal clothing for every day people, and know that I will be able to find something that fits me, without having to hope and pray that they carry sizes for larger people.

About fallyn96

mother. queen of the house. likes sparkly stuff because sparkly stuff is boy repellent. especially if it's pink sparkly stuff. View all posts by fallyn96

Leave a Reply

