Who Is This Child And What Has He Done With My Son?

*Sigh*

Baseball season has started. Cody has practice on Sunday, Dylan has practice yesterday, Cody has practice today, and Dylan has practice on Wednesday. Games start in a month- which means that I’ll have a game AND a practice on Mondays, practice on Tuesdays, games on Wednesdays (maybe practice- not sure on that one yet), games on Thursdays, and games on Saturdays.

And we have yet to have a schedule for tee ball.

I lost my card reader (it’s around here somewhere), otherwise I’d have pictures to post.

Dylan’s first practice was yesterday, and he… well, he needs some practice. He needs to work on throwing- right now, because a coach told him to step when he throws, he steps, looks at his toes to make sure that he stepped, then throws. No aim. The ball goes in any direction it feels like, whether or not the person Dyl is throwing to is there to catch the ball.

Oh- and he had to ask where the infield was.

Cody seems to be more comfortable with baseball this year, which is good. He has more friends on his team this year, which he’s loving.

Cody turned ten yesterday. I did not know that ten was the magic number for learning responsibility. It’s like the responsibility switch in his brain was turned on as soon as he turned ten. Yesterday, he came home and immediately went outside to clean the backyard. Not the ‘clean the backyard’ nine year old definition (which is tell Mommy that he’s cleaning the backyard but in reality he’s riding his skateboard/bike up and down the alley), but the ‘clean the backyard’ responsible grown up definition (which is grab a garbage can and start filling).

Then- he gave James some oyster crackers. James dumped them on the floor (James is two, btw). Cody immediately, without being told to do anything at all, grabbed the broom and dustpan and cleaned them up.

Finally- a half hour ago, I got a phone call from a private number (which is the grade school usually). I can’t answer, as I only have about 20 seconds of time left on my phone (don’t get me started on that little beauty), so I let it go to voicemail and then check the message. Cody was calling to let me know that a- there is no after school program this week (which, duh, I already knew) and b- he is walking home from school today.

Now, yesterday, we had a chat about letting me know when he’s going to walk home. He can either tell me before school or he can come out to the car after school and tell me. I have no issue with him walking, unless we have plans. But I sat here with my jaw hanging wide open for about five minutes, because this is not the Cody that I’ve lived with for the last 10 years. Oh no, this is a brand spanking new Cody.

I’m hoping that he doesn’t lose his mind once he really discovers girls.

About fallyn96

mother. queen of the house. likes sparkly stuff because sparkly stuff is boy repellent. especially if it's pink sparkly stuff. View all posts by fallyn96

One response to “Who Is This Child And What Has He Done With My Son?

Leave a Reply

