Problem Areas

I have multiple problem areas in the home. One of them is Dylan and Evan’s bedroom closet. They share a bedroom, and because Evan is accident prone and I’m not really in the mood for midnight rushes to the emergency room because he rolled off the top bunk (yeah, I don’t trust rails. I’m a PARANOID MOTHER), their bunkbed is currently two twin beds, which doesn’t leave us a lot of room.

Last night, I was browsing some new to me blogs, and came across this wonderful little gem:

Reader Redesign: One Mod Mudroom.

And I had a light bulb moment. Granted, the inspiration is a mud room, but I’m thinking READING NOOK. I was planning on painting the closet, and I was going to leave it open to begin with, but this solves a couple of problems.

  1. Seating space for two (or more) kids.
  2. what to do with what is essentially WASTED SPACE.

Of course, it doesn’t solve where to put their clothes, but since they tend to consider any outfit on display to be perfect for a quick game of ‘Let’s see how many outfit we can get to hang from the ceiling light’, I’m not completely against it.  It also means that I need to figure out how to get some light in there, since apparently lights in closets were unheard of in the 50s.

I’m going to have to get creative. Right now, the boys have some shelves in their closet, which are the perfect height for a bench. I’m going to paint them, and I’ll make a cushion and some pillows to set on it. Unlike the linked post, I won’t put hooks in their closet. I will put shelves on either side, for their books and assorted toys. I love the idea of baskets on the bottom shelf, which will help with the toy box problem (they have too many toy boxes as it is). I can get rid of a toy box, which makes room for a desk which will be a stand for their TV (yeah, they have a TV in their room. Sue me).

Another problem area in the house is Cody’s room. Yes, the entire room. In case you didn’t know, this house is where I grew up. Cody’s room was my room, and because I’m most definitely female, he has been sleeping in a lavendar room for the last four years.

Yeah, let that just sink in for a moment.

My nine year old son has been sleeping in a LAVENDAR and SEAFOAM GREEN bedroom.

I hope that he doesn’t need therapy due to this.

Because I can’t do the entire room just yet. Too expensive, Mike works almost constantly, and quite frankly- it’s too hot (no air conditioning), so I’m thinking maybe next spring or fall. But in the meantime, I can refinish his dresser and do something with his desk. That is actually a project for the first week of school, no matter what Mike says.

About fallyn96

mother. queen of the house. likes sparkly stuff because sparkly stuff is boy repellent. especially if it's pink sparkly stuff. View all posts by fallyn96

Leave a Reply

